AWSL Initiatives

Recognizing Excellence in Student Leadership

AWSL sponsors several awards and initiatives to recognize student leadership and advisers in Washington State. Learn more about each award by exploring the links below.

Honor Roll

The AWSL Honor Roll is an opportunity for you to let us showcase the incredible programs you've had at your school or one you've attended at another school. Please visit the Honor Roll page to see the most recent honorees and previous winners, and please feel free to use the Honor Roll as an idea bank for the next great program at your school!

Community Service Log

What impact does student leadership have in Washington State? Join our effort, launched at the 2014 Fall Conference, to record the community service and volunteer work of student leaders.

Log your community service work by using our online entry form. You can submit a form for each project completed. We'll share your projects in the Idea Share section of our Leadership Library.  

Adviser of the Year

Please let us recognize your school's outstanding leadership adviser using our nomination form.

Past Honorees

High School

  • 2014: Sarah LeDuc, Chiawana
  • 2013: Travis Ruhter, Mark Morris
  • 2012: Roberta Hasstedt, Cascade
  • 2011: Vince Ivelia, Snohomish
  • 2010: John Norlin, Sumner
  • 2009: Kay Anderson, Clarkston
  • 2008: Molly Stubrud, Fife
  • 2007: Tira Hancock, Eatonville
  • 2006: Tom Burmester, Henry Foss
  • 2005: Lynn Fallows, Mount Si
  • 2004: Beryl Lenington-Jones, Eisenhower
  • 2003: Kim Stewart, Mountlake Terrace
  • 2002: Leanne Donley, Central Valley
  • 2001: Pam Kinkela, Governor John Rogers
  • 2000: Jim Qualheim, Richland
  • 1999: Louise Ono, Ballard
  • 1998: Brent Grothe, Wenatchee
  • 1997: Sally Barnum, Inglemoor
  • 1996: Ed Bailey, Everett
  • 1995: Dennis Gillingham, Mountain View
  • 1994: Eleanor Schulze, Gig Harbor
  • 1993: Rod Sivertsen, Tahoma
  • 1992: Bobbie Jo Gregor, Ellensburg
  • 1991: Katherine Parker, Edmonds-Woodway
  • 1990: Mel Kelln, Marysville-Pilchuck
  • 1989: Martin E. Fortin, Jr., Yelm
  • 1988: George Amend, Central Valley

Middle Level

  • 2014: Ryan Healy, Ridgeline
  • 2013: Janice Broten, La Center
  • 2012: Caity Karapostoles, Sequim
  • 2011: Kari Bradley, Curtis
  • 2010: Susie Bennett, Selah
  • 2009: Stacia Hardie, Eastmont
  • 2008: Tammy Caldwell, Marysville
  • 2007: Tiffany Williams, West Valley
  • 2006: Rob Ohashi, Elma
  • 2005: Lori Leach, Morgan
  • 2004: Lana Yenne, Yelm
  • 2003: Kathy Lech, Pioneer
  • 2002: Ruth Anderson, Hunt
  • 2001: Laurel Robillard, Yelm
  • 2000: Barb Pearson, Mason
  • 1999: Jay Giles, Kingston

Impact Award

The Impact Award is AWSL's ongoing recognition program for schools going above and beyond to make a difference in their student body, community, region, or state.